Living with Dementia

some days I feel like banging my head on the wall.

Other days i feel I would be better off dead.

i don’t have Dementia…my partner of 58 years does. He is not the man I married.

His mind is like a butterfly flitting from on thing to another.

He announced a while ago..

I will watch a film at 3 oclock!

good I said. (I am due to do 2 Hours volunteering in the Library from 3 til 5pm) I thought he would be well occupied .

Ten minutes later he said I have to make a sandwich for my tea…I’ll have to give the film a miss….I can get it tomorrow!!

No amount of reasoning and pointing out that he could wait til the film finished would convince him to make the sandwich after the film!!!

This is just a small indication of things as they are here!!! Is it any wonder I feel as though I am going mad.Mind you Talking Point on the Dementia site has convinced me that I am not in as bad a place as many others caring for partners suffering this dreadful condition.

If anyone reading this has an opportunity to contribute to funding for research into Dementia Please do so!

Husband has just appeared to inform me now : I will watch the film………………………..

Aaaagh!!!

3 thoughts on “Living with Dementia

Leave a comment